Within Granular User Permissions you have the ability to configure Approvals - this introduces a review process between "Approvers" and users that "Require Approval" when uploading new content to your Signagelive network. When a user requiring approval uploads new content, this is submitted for approval to users with the Is Approver status. This permission level allows these trusted users to 'approve' or 'deny' newly uploaded content.
Content Upload Approval Permissions
There are two Permission levels that define an "Approver" and a user who "Requires Approval".
- Is Approver - Users with this permission level enabled become Approvers. If a new piece of content has been uploaded that requires approval, Approvers will get a notification on their Player Dashboard when they log in. If they click on this notification, they will be taken to the auto-generated Awaiting Approval folder within that Signagelive network's content library. From here the content can either be 'approved', which will move it to the main content library, where the asset can be used as normal and incorporated into Playlists.
- Require Approval When Adding Media Assets - Users with this permission level enabled will require approval for any content they upload onto their Signagelive network. Once their content is 'approved' they will be notified (subject to what notification preference settings they have in place on their account). Once the content they have uploaded is 'approved' they can then find amongst the rest of the assets in their content library that they have the relevant permissions to view.
Enabling Approvers and Approver Users
You can enable the Is Approver or Require Approval When Adding Media Assets on several different levels
- Within any custom Role
- On an individual User
- By overriding a current Role
- Within a User Group by overriding a current Role
You can find out more about Granular User Permissions here.
Setting up “Is Approver” and “Requires Approval” when… permissions via non-system default Roles
To configure the Approvals permissions on a role, navigate to Settings > Roles via the top bar on the User Interface. From here you can select the non-system default Role you would like to amend (or create a new role if there is not one yet). You will then have the ability to check which Permissions this Role has.
Within the Roles Permissions, you can find both permissions under Network and Approvals (press '+' to expand these menus).
Setting up “Is Approver” and “Requires Approval” when… permissions by overriding User permissions
To set up the “Is Approver” and “Requires Approval” permissions by individual user, navigate to the Settings > Users drop-down menu. From here you can select the User you would like to give permissions to.
Within the Users Permissions, you can find both permissions under Network and Approvals (press '+' to expand these menus).