Content upload approval
Approvals give content approvers the ability to ensure that content uploaded ready to add to playlists has been reviewed and approved by a trusted user. Users with the correct permissions will be able to define “Approvers” who will have the ability to approve or deny content from those users and the users whose operations require approval.
Setting up Approvals
If you have switched from a non Granular User Permissions network to one that has Permissions enabled and you’re looking to utilise the Approvals functionality, you will need to look for and enable two different permissions:
Is Approver - Users with the Is Approver permission enabled become Approvers. Approvers can approve content for users who Require Approval. They are given the ability to update content that is pending approval and reject/accept the content that has been sent.
Requires Approval when... - Users who Require Approval require approval of any content that is uploaded to the network. Users who Require Approval will be notified once their content has been approved or rejected by an Approver. This can be set up to their preference via their Notifications settings.
Enabling Approvers and Approver Users
You can enable the “Is Approver” or “Requires Approval” when... permissions on several different levels
- Within a non system default Role
- On an individual User
- By overriding a current Role
- Within a User Group by overriding a current Role
You can find out more about Granular User Permissions here.
Setting up “Is Approver” and “Requires Approval” when… permissions via non system default Roles
To set up the “Is Approver” and “Requires Approval” when… permissions on a role, navigate to Settings and Roles via the top bar on the User Interface. From here you can select the non system default Role you would like to amend (or create a new role if there is not one yet). You will then have the ability to check which Permissions this Role has.
Within the Role Permissions, you can find both permissions under Network and Approvals.
Setting up “Is Approver” and “Requires Approval” when… permissions by overriding User permissions
To set up the “Is Approver” and “Requires Approval” when… permissions by individual user, navigate to Users within the Settings dropdown on the User Interface. From here you can select the User you would like to give permissions to.
Within the Users Permissions, you can find both permissions under Network and Approvals.
Setting up “Is Approver” and “Requires Approval” when… permissions by overriding User Group permissions
If you would like to update a User Group permission, you can do so by navigating to Users within the Settings dropdown. From there you can select the three dots beside the User Group. You can then override the Permissions within here.
Hint - To find out more about Approving content as an Approver, please see here