Signagelive Help Centre

Local users - the whole process

Follow

A local user can only edit the playlists they've been given access to and specifically on the players showing that content. It's a great way to reduce workflow and simplify the content update process.

A master layout can be created and sent to all players globally, with each local user contributing key content and messages to the players important to them and their customers.

Here’s a little animation to give you an idea of how local users can be used.

 

If this seems like something you’d like to try, follow these steps to learn more.


Log in to Signagelive as an administrator or user

(Administrator or User)

 

As an administrator or user within Signagelive, you can set up a global playlist including a localised playlist, which you’ll find in the control asset folder. You can also define which players this will be shown on and you can give create local user accounts to control this content.

As well as being able to dictate the players each local user can access, you can also restrict access to content by adding tags to the user and allow them to upload new media, or not.


Create a global playlist

(Administrator or User)

 

This playlist can contain as much media as you wish, alternatively, it can contain just the localised playlist control asset.

If you add media to this ‘Global’ playlist, it will be shown on all the players it is sent to (unless it contains conditions to state otherwise.


Add a localised playlist

(Administrator or User)

 

Once you have created your global playlist, you should add a localised playlist to it. This will allow you to define the players that it is shown on.

You can also stipulate a maximum number of assets per playlist, the playback mode, duration and order within the set-up of this control asset. Remember, you set this up as the administrator or user, the local user can then simply edit the media within the localised playlist and it will follow the settings that you create here as the global playlist creator.


Create a local user account

(Administrator or User)

A user account will need to be created for whoever is to have localised access to the player and content. It’s a simple setup process with powerful results.


Add user tags to your local users

(Administrator or User)

 

If you only want to give your local users access to the content that is relevant to them, you can add tags to the local user and the content. They simply won’t see content that doesn't match their given tag. It’s another great way to simplify the user experience as they won’t have to filter through a full library of content that’s not relevant to them or their viewers.


Publish Content

(Administrator or User)

 

Your content can now be published. First you’ll need to decide if you wish to show full screen content (a playlist) or if that playlist should be published within a zone in a layout. The following video will show you the steps to publishing your content. 


Log in as a Local user

(Local user)

 

Local users can only see the playlists assigned to them (defined by players they are given access to). Changes made by a local user will apply once the player performs its content check. The local user doesn't have to republish or amend any schedules, it’s all automatic as long as the content has been published by the user or administrator.

Once you have set up your content to play, your local user can control it dynamically. So, as you can see, the local user is a powerful tool with many potential uses. We hope that this guide helps you and if you have any questions, let us know.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Powered by Zendesk