Skip to main content
All CollectionsContent ManagementPublishing Content - Advanced Techniques
How do I localise an Asset to the Player it is published to?
How do I localise an Asset to the Player it is published to?
Ian Maison avatar
Written by Ian Maison
Updated over a week ago

It is possible to use a number of placeholders in the URL for your MRSS Feed or a Web Asset (on supported player types), which Signagelive will automatically replace with data stored against a Player record. This allows you to be able to localise the content which is being synchronised using a single MRSS feed / Web asset within Signagelive.

Allowing just one entry within a playlist which is published to a group of players, and at the point in the playlist where the MRSS Feed / Web Asset is added, the player will show the content specific to its localisation data.

There are a number of placeholders which are available to use, some of which are automatically defined by Signagelive, and some of which you can set yourself within the User Interface:

Preset

  • {!slserialno} - This is the serial no against a player, which is defined when the player is activated

  • {!serialno} - This is the serial no against a player, which is defined when the player is activated

  • {networkref} - This is the ID of the Network that you are using.

Configurable

  • {tradename} - This is the description of the player

  • {address1} - Address Line 1

  • {address2} - Address Line 2

  • {town} - City

  • {county} - County

  • {country} - Country

  • {postcode} - Postcode / Zipcode

  • {refcode1} - Reference 1

  • {refcode2} - Reference 2

  • {refcode3} - Reference 3

  • {refcode4} - Reference 4

  • {refcode5} - Reference 5

  • {refcode6} - Reference 6

  • {refcode7} - Reference 7

  • {refcode8} - Reference 8

  • {refcode9} - Reference 9

  • {refcode10} - Reference 10

If multiple players have the same content within these fields and they are used as placeholders for your MRSS Feeds, Signagelive will only call that URL once and sync the feed once, but it will be available to all players with the same details.

Did this answer your question?